Councillor John Wynn Jones has been elected as the Mayor of Bangor for 2018/19. Bangor City council members voted unanimously for Mr Jones to take over the role at a meeting of the full council on 2nd May.

Having spent 2017/18 as deputy Mayor, Mr Jones will now assume office from the outgoing Mayor Councillor Derek Hainge. Mr Jones has previously held the position of Mayor of Bangor in both 1999-2000 and 2008-09.

Mr Jones, Councillor for Hendre Ward, was invested as the Mayor with the chain of office and he read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office to the Council members.

The new Mayor thanked his fellow Councillors for their support and said that he was “looking forward to the challenge of helping the City grow”.

Councillors also voted for Councillor John Wyn Williams, Dewi Ward, to take over as Deputy Mayor.

Main Photo Councillor John Wynn Jones Mayor of Bangor 2018/19

Deputy Mayor of Bangor for 2018/19 Councillor John Wyn Williams