In time for Remembrance Sunday, and almost 97 years to the day the gates of the Memorial Arch in Bangor were ceremonially opened for Prince Edward Prince of Wales on 1st November 1923, the North Wales Heroes Memorial, to give the building its proper name, has been hung with a new set of gates.
The Memorial Arch, as it’s known these days, is elegant building and a visible symbol and reminder, which sits below the main Bangor University on Deiniol Road, Bangor. It is a listed building and it falls to the University to maintain the building for the future.
Inside the Memorial Arch are inscribed the names of 8,500 individuals from the counties of north Wales, who died in active service during the Great War.
“No one who has seen the oak-lined room containing the names of the men who died on active service, and arranged by parishes of north Wales, can fail to be moved by the experience,” commented Lars Wiegand, Director of Property and Campus Services at Bangor University.
“Care of the building is our solemn responsibility. The building is a beautiful and moving tribute to them.”
“Managing this and our other Listed Buildings on our estate give us the occasional opportunity to commission traditional building crafts.”
The work was commissioned on behalf of the University by local contractors Lewington and Templer, the work was carried out by carpenter Dave Smith Windows and Doors.
Andy Templer of Lewington and Templer said: “It was an honour to be part of the work to ensure that the Memorial Arch was once again looking resplendent for Remembrance Sunday. The gates are of oak and are a replica of the original design. They are held in place by the original ironwork.”
