Bangor City travel to Aberystwyth for this evening’s Welsh Premier League game which will be shown live on Sgorio (S4C) Kick-Off 5:15pm

Aberystwyth who are bottom of the Welsh Premier with only 1pt this season are now coached by former Bangor manager Nev Powell as City look for their first away win of the season and Aber look to secure their first win of their campaign.

Aber are the only Welsh Premier side without a win this season and have the worst defensive record of any team, conceding 11 goals and scoring just 1 goal from 5 games, which will be music to ears of Bangor fans.

After being thwarted by floodlight failure in their last game when leading Connah’s Quay Nomads 1-0, Kevin Nicholson’s Citizens will be looking to maintain momentum in what will be only City’s second road trip of the season, the Citizens will be aiming to build on a record of three wins and one defeat and register their first away points of the season, after losing 3-1 at Cardiff Met Uni in their only other away fixture.

Aberystwyth will need to make a dramatic improvement if they are to avoid a relegation battle this season, but never take things fro granted, Nev Powell is a wily old fox and will have a point to prove today. Aber could also feature former Bangor players Declan Walker, Ashley Young and John Owen, who have joined the Seasiders since Nev Powell’s appointment.

Bangor have a full-strength squad at their disposal with recent injury victims Paul Connolly, Daniel Nardiello and Steven Hewitt all vying for inclusion in the starting line-up. The only likely absentee is young defender Cai Owen who underwent a scan during the week to assess knee ligament damage.

Last season Bangor completed the double over Aberystwyth with a 4-0 win at Nantporth and a 3-0 win at Park Avenue.

Today’s game is the first of three games in eight days for Bangor, manager Kevin Nicholson said: “It’s an important week ahead for the team. We want to start well with a winning performance (against Aber) to maintain our momentum.”

Bangor City Team from:
1 Connor Roberts (GK), 3 Tom Kennedy, 4 Luke Wall, 5 Anthony Miley, 7 Gary Taylor-Fletcher, 8 Damien Allen, 9 Daniel Nardiello, 10 Dean Rittenberg, 11 Sion Edwards, 12 George Harry, 13 Matt Hall (GK), 14 Cai Owen, 15 Danny Holmes, 16 Danny Gosset, 17 Sam Henry, 19 Laurence Wilson, 23 Brayden Shaw, 24 Steven Hewitt, 28 Guto Williams, 30 Paul Connolly, 31 Anderson Cayola.

Photo @EventPhotoWales