Bangor 1876 will play their first ever league match away at the newly-named Ogwen Tigers on Saturday 10th August, according to the Tigers website.

Although all the fixtures haven’t yet been confirmed by league officials, details of some of the first matches in the Gwynedd League for the 2019/20 season have been sent to the clubs.

Ogwen Tigers, previously known as Mynydd Tigers, have also moved to their new home ground at Bethesda Rugby Club for the coming season. With an average home attendance of just 32 last season, the Tigers can expect a bumper crowd for the first game of the season.

The Gwynedd League will consist of 15 teams next season. In addition to the newly formed Bangor 1876, last year’s league champions Menai Bridge Tigers were refused promotion because of inadequate toilet facilities at their ground, so remain in the league this season.

Llannerchymedd have stepped down from the Welsh Alliance and will play in the Gwynedd League after losing most of their first team players to other clubs, while Bryngwran Bulls have been promoted from the Anglesey league along with Caergybi. Bethesda Athletic rejoin the Gwynedd League again for the 2019/20 season after resigning from the league last year before playing any games.

On Saturday, 27 July, Bangor 1876 will host Holywell Town in a pre-season friendly, their first ever home fixture. The game will be played on the grass football pitch at Bangor University’s Treborth facility with a 1pm Kick-off.

The club also received the news this week they will host Llandudno Athletic of the Vale of Clwyd & Conwy Football League in JD Welsh Cup 1st Qualifying Round on the weekend of 31 August/1 September. 1876 will host CPD Sychdyn of the North East Wales Football League Premier Division in the FAW Trophy Round 1 on Saturday 17 August.

Gwynedd League Teams 2019/20

Bangor 1876
Bethesda Athletic
Bro Goronwy
Bryngwran Bulls
Menai Bridge Tigers
Ogwen Tigers (formerly Mynydd Tigers)
Nefyn United
Talysarn Celts

Gwynedd League Fixtures 10 August 2019 (2.30pm kick-off)
Ogwen Tigers v Bangor 1876 (at Bethesda Rugby Club)
Bro Goronwy v Llanystumdwy
Glantraeth v Bryngwran Bulls
Llangoed v Caergybi
Menai Bridge Tigers v Waunfawr
Nefyn United v Bethesda Athletic

Monday, 12 August 2019 (6.30pm)
Bontnewydd v Waunfawr
Llannerchymedd v Caergybi
Llanystumdwy v Nefyn United
Menai Bridge Tigers v Bro Goronwy.

Thursday, 15 August 2019 (6.30pm)
Bethesda Athletic v Bryngwran Bulls
Llangoed v Glantraeth
Talysarn Celts v Ogwen Tigers

Photo: Mark Lee (FC United of Manchester)